1 Jun 2018 | AWE Team
Meet the 9th Annual Auggie Awards Winners
AWE USA 2018

Auggie Awards in 10 categories were announced live on the AWE stage in addition to 2 Nextant Awards presented by Virtual World Society

 AWE USA 2018, the world’s #1 AR+VR conference and expo announced the winners of the 9th annual Auggie Awards.  AWE’s Auggie Award is the most recognized industry AR & VR accolade--recognizing  excellence in augmented, virtual and mixed reality innovation and leadership since 2010.

In addition to the 10 Auggie Awards, the Virtual World Society presented its Nextant Award to two XR pioneers, Nonny de la Peña, an American journalist, award-winning documentary filmmaker, and Founder of Emblematic Group and Mark Bolas, a researcher, MR pioneer and Professor of Interactive Media in the USC Interactive Media Division.

The Winners of the 2018 AWE Auggie Awards are:

Best Consumer App sponsored AugmentedReality.org – IKEA Place by IKEA

Best Art or Film sponsored by IEEE-SA – “Karim & Noor” by Blink Studios


Best Creator & Authoring Tool sponsored by Microsoft – Gravity Sketch

Best Campaign sponsored by PTC Vuforia – Acura AR Race by Current Studios

Best Developer Tool sponsored by DAQRI – Unity

Best Enterprise Solution sponsored by Kopin – Holoroom Test Drive by Lowe’s Innovation Labs

Best Game & Toy sponsored AugmentedReality.org – Star Wars: Jedi Challenge by Lenovo

Best Headworn Device sponsored by Qualcomm – Vive Pro by HTC

Best Input or Output Hardware sponsored by Bosch – Holo-Stylus by Holo-Light

Best Interaction Software Tool sponsored HTC – ManoMotion

About the Judges

Winners of the AWE 2018 Auggie Award were determined by the public and an expert panel of impartial judges, including:

  • Abby Albright – Co-Founder, WXR Fund
  • David Beard – Product Management, DAQRI
  • Hiren Bhinde – Director Product Management (VR/AR)
  • Qualcomm; Mark Billinghurst – Director, HIT Lab
  • Brandon Bray – Principal GRoup Program Manager, Microsoft
  • Pearly Chen – Chief of Staff, HTC
  • Dr. Hong Choi – Chief Technology Officer, Kopin
  • Tom Emrich – Board Member, AugmentedReality.org
  • Duffy Fallon – Associate Product Manager, PTC Vuforia
  • Tom Furness – Founder, Virtual World Society
  • Jay Iorio – Director of Innovation, IEEE Standards Association
  • Ori Inbar – Board Member, AugmentedReality.org
  • Linda Jacobson – Board of Directors, Virtual World Society
  • Phil Keslin – CTO, Niantic; Dave Lorenzini – Board Member, AugmentedReality.org
  • Juergen Lumera – Director of Global Product Management, Bosch
  • Brian Mullins – Board Member, AugmentedReality.org
  • Justin Quimby – Senior Product Manager, Google AR/VR
  • Mark Sage – Executive Director, AR for Enterprise Association (The AREA)
  • Tish Shute – Director AR/VR, Corporate Technology Strategy, Huawei
    Brad Weiers – Product Manager, Unity

The final day of AWE USA 2018, June 1, will see the announcement of the remaining Auggie Awards categories including Best-in-Show, the AWEsome award and Startup to Watch.

Congratulations to all the winners! To learn more about the Auggie Awards and to check out the full list of winners and finalists head on over to this page on the AWE website.

Share This Article